Thinking Tank

by jennycoreblog

Do Not Sit On The Fence

Mixed media on paper.

Having ‘completed’ the drawing piece, I found the unpredictable and uncontrollable values of the inks and coffee very interesting! Using the patterns formed as the surface pattern of the fence I was able to further this by working into the edges of the forms creating depths and a more ‘dramatic’ lighting for character and ambiguity. I am feeling more confident using chance and the social (humour) in my work, which is encouraging me to investigate further. I want to bring forward the ‘serious'(?), ‘play’, ‘humour’ and the familiar. I love a constant narrative and want to continue this through my works with each piece existing for itself (with reference to Bertolt Brecht).

*ARTIST INFLUENCES

David Shrigley

Jenny Holzer

Francis Alyis

Oliver Michaels

Jeppe Hein (Please Do Not Touch The Artwork)

