Artist Update

by jennycoreblog

It has been a busy month, here is what I have been up to:

My work was showcased in the Vanguard exhibition at Studio 1D, Clapton, London. The exhibit was a group exhibition featuring works from the online Contemporary Experimental Art Archive (www.experimentalinstallationproject.com).

I was shortlisted for the Saatchi Showdown in October. Thank you to all who voted for my work!

A selection of my work and prints were selected for a selling exhibition in the Creative Minds exhibition organised by RNIB at Salford Quays. I also had the pleasure of meeting the Major of Salford!

In other news, I was shortlisted for The National Open Art Competition. Unfortunately I didn’t make it through to the exhibition stage (stage 3). Maybe next year!

Abort, Retry, Fail? exhibition opened its doors on 5th November and runs through to 23rd December 2011. Eleven artists from across the UK investigate the creative process as one of trial and error, reflectively exploring the ideas of struggle, failure, the impossible and the unresolved as a necessary path to success. Through photography, sculpture, video and drawing these artists reflect upon art-making as a continuous voyage: sometimes through pathos and sometimes through play, yet always impassioned and ever ongoing. What unifies the group is a focus on the methods and processes of working, presenting art as evidence of an ongoing creative journey with trials and transformations along its way.

‘Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.’
– Samuel Beckett

In the studio, I have been developing my latest project exploring the concept of drawing and preparing for my next show at Bank Street Arts in Sheffield, previewing on 10th January 2012!

